Include as many of the following elements as possible when citing websites: page title or description; page author/owner/sponsor; site title or description of site as a whole; site owner/sponsor; date of publication or revision; and a URL.
Names of websites are usually written without any formatting (no quotes or italics), unless it shares its name with a work that does normally get italicized.
An initial "the" should be lower-case when mentioned narratively and not italicized.
When in doubt, use plain formatting without quotes or italics.
Clarifying examples from CMOS 18, 14.103 and 8.193-194:
* The name of a news site is not the same as the name of a news channel or company.
CMOS 14.103 CMOS 13.193-194
Websites can often be limited to notes. If not using notes, a bibliographic entry may be included, cited by the owner or sponsor of the site.
1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Title of Page," Title or Owner of Site, date last modified or accessed, URL.
2. Author Surname, "Title of Page."
Author Surname, First Name or Initials. "Title of Page." Title or Owner of Site. Date last modified or accessed. URL.
CMOS 14.104
1. K. A. Johnson and J. A. Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas," Harvard University Medical School, accessed April 29, 2011, http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/.
2. Johnson and Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas."
Johnson, K. A., and J. A. Becker. "The Whole Brain Atlas." Harvard University Medical School. Accessed April 29, 2011. http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/.
1. Alan Henry, "Why We Get Brain Freezes," Lifehacker, published June 11, 2016, http://lifehacker.com/why-we-get-brain-freezes-1781798710.
2. Henry, "Brain Freezes."
Henry, Alan. "Why We Get Brain Freezes." Lifehacker. Published June 11, 2016. http://lifehacker.com/why-we-get-brain-freezes-1781798710.
1. Sam Gruet and Megan Lawton. "What is Rage-Baiting and Why is it Profitable?" BBC, published December 10, 2024, https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c4gp555xy5ro.
2. Gruet and Lawton, "Rage-Baiting."
Gruet, Sam and Megan Lawton. "What is Rage-Baiting and Why is it Profitable?" BBC. Published December 10, 2024, https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c4gp555xy5ro.
1. "Apps for Office Sample Pack," Office Dev Center, Microsoft Corporation, updated October 20, 2015, https://code.msdn.microsoft.com/office/Apps-for-Office-code-d04762b7.
2. "Apps for Office."
Microsoft Corporation. "Apps for Office Sample Pack." Office Dev Center. Updated October 20, 2015. https://code.msdn.microsoft.com/office/Apps-for-Office-code-d04762b7.
1. "Diabetes Myths," American Diabetes Association, accessed December 5, 2024, http://www.diabetes.org/diabetes-basics/myths.
2. "Diabetes Myths."
American Diabetes Association. "Diabetes Myths." Accessed December 5, 2024. http://www.diabetes.org/diabetes-basics/myths.
Blogs that are part of a larger publication should include the name of that publication.
You may include "(blog)" after the title if it's not clear from the title what it is.
1. Author-Firstname Surname, "Title of Entry," Name of Blog (blog), Name of Larger Publication/Site, date, URL.
2. Author Surname, "Short Title of Entry."
Surname, Firstname. "Title of Entry." Title of Blog (blog). Name of Larger Publication/Site, date. URL.
CMOS 14.105
1. Steve Hocking, "George V's Silver Jubilee and the BBC," History of the BBC (blog), BBC, June 1, 2022, https://www.bbc.co.uk/historyofthebbc/researchers/george-vs-silver-jubilee-and-the-bbc.
2. Hocking, “Silver Jubilee.”
Hocking, Steve. "George V's Silver Jubilee and the BBC." History of the BBC (blog). BBC, June 1, 2022, https://www.bbc.co.uk/historyofthebbc/researchers/george-vs-silver-jubilee-and-the-bbc.
1. William, Germano, "Futurist Shock," Lingua Franca (blog), Chronicle of Higher Education, February 15, 2017, http://www.chornicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2017/02/15/futurist-shock/.
2. Germano, "Futurist Shock."
Germano, William. "Futurist Shock." Lingua Franca (blog). Chronicle of Higher Education, February 15, 2017. http://www.chornicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2017/02/15/futurist-shock/.
Omit the URL for art you've viewed in person.
Information about paintings, photos, sculptures and other artworks is usually presented in text. If a more formal citation is needed, follow these examples.
1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, Image Title, Year, medium, dimensions, physical location, accession number, URL.
2. Author Surname, Image Title.
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Image Title. Year. Medium, dimensions. Location, accession number. URL.
CMOS 14.133
1. Jan Griffier, Dutch Snow Scene with Skaters, c.1695, oil on canvas, 83 x 94 cm, Merchant Adventurers' Hall, York, England, YORMA 344, https://artuk.org/discover/artworks/dutch-snow-scene-with-skaters-10363.
2. Griffier, Dutch Snow Scene.
Griffier, Jan. Dutch Snow Scene with Skaters. c.1695. Oil on canvas, 83 x 94 cm. Merchant Adventurers' Hall, York, England. YORMA 344. https://artuk.org/discover/artworks/dutch-snow-scene-with-skaters-10363.
1. Pablo Picasso, Bull's Head, spring 1942, bicycle saddle and handlebars, 33.5 x 43.5 x 19 cm, Musée Picasso Paris.
2. Picasso, Bull's Head.
Picasso, Pablo. Bull's Head. Spring 1942. Bicycle saddle and handlebars, 33.5 x 43.5 x 19 cm. Musée Picasso Paris.
1. Dorothea Lange, Black Maria, Oakland, 1957, printed 1965, gelatin silver print, 39.3 x 37 cm, Art Institute, Chicago, ref. no. 2013.1220, http://www.artic.edu/aic/collections/artwork/220174.
2. Lange, Black Maria, Oakland.
Lange, Dorothea. Black Maria, Oakland. 1957, printed 1965. Gelatin silver print, 39.3 x 37 cm. Art Institute, Chicago. Ref. no. 2013.1220. http://www.artic.edu/aic/collections/artwork/220174.
1. Steve McCurry, Afghan Girl, December 1984, photograph, National Geographic, cover, June 1985.
2. McCurry, Afghan Girl.
McCurry, Steve. Afghan Girl. December 1984. Photograph. National Geographic, cover, June 1985.
1. Lone Star College-University Park Library, Infographic of Parts of an APA Student Manuscript, n.d., color image, APA Style (7th ed.), https://upresearch.lonestar.edu/APA/student-components.
2. Lone Star College, Infographic.
Lone Star College-University Park Library. Infographic of Parts of an APA Student Manuscript. N.d., color image. APA Style (7th ed.). https://upresearch.lonestar.edu/APA/student-components.
Include the author's real name, if known, as well as their screen name. For non-text posts, you'll include a description of the content, e.g. "Instagram photo" instead of simply "Twitter."
Due to the ephemeral nature of social media (quickly and easily edited or deleted), researchers are encouraged to keep a copy of anything they cite.
1. Author Name (@screen name), "Text of the post up to 280 characters, including spaces and keep any emojis," Service with description, date published, URL.
2. Author Name/Surname, "Text of the post."
Usually not included in bibliography.
CMOS 14.106
1. Chicago Manual of Style (@ChicagoManual), "Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993," Facebook, April 17, 2015, https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.
2. Chicago Manual of Style, "Is the world ready."
1. Junot Diaz (@JunotDiaz.writer), "Always surprises my students when I tell them that the 'real' medieval was more diverse than the fake ones most of us consume on our televisions (Game of Thrones etc) would lead us to believe," Facebook, February 24, 2016, https://www.facebook.com/junotdiaz.writer/posts/972495572815454.
2. Diaz, "Always surprises."
1. Conan O'Brien (@ConanOBrien), "In honor of Earth Day, I'm recycling my tweets," Twitter (now X), April 22, 2015, https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448.
2. O'Brien, "In honor of."
1. Pete Souza (@petesouza), "President Obama bids farewell to President Xi of China at the conclusion of the Nuclear Security Summit," Instagram photo, April 1, 2016, https://www.instagram.com/p/BDrmfXTtNCt/.
2. Souza, "President Obama."
1. First Name1 Last Name1 to First Name2 Last Name2, Month DD, YYYY. Website/Collection Name, url.
2. Last Name1 to First Name2 Last Name2, Month DD, YYYY.
Frequently omitted.
If you use several letters from the same collection, you may make a bibliography entry for the overall collection:
Name of the Collection. Description or sub-set info. Holding Library, optional city, state.
If an item is important enough to mention in the bibliography and it's the only thing from a collection you used:
Lastname, Firstname. Description of item, date. Name of the Collection. Description or sub-set info. Holding Library, optional city, state.
CMOS 14.126-129
1. Joseph Christy to Mary Jane Demus, April 27, 1865. Letters of the Demus and Christy Families, 1863-1865, Valley of the Shadow, University of Virginia Library, http://valley.lib.virginia.edu/papers/F3023.
2. Christy to Mary Jane Demus, April 27, 1865.
Christy, Joseph L. Letter to Mary Jane Demus, April 27, 1865. Letters of the Demus and Christy Families, 1863-1865. Valley of the Shadow, University of Virginia Library. http://valley.lib.virginia.edu/papers/F3023.
1. Sender First Name Surname to Recipient First Name Surname, memorandum, "Subject of Memo," date, Collection Information, url.
2. Sender to Recipient, date.
Sender Surname, First Name. Sender First Name Surname to Recipient First Name Surname, memorandum, "Subject of Memo," date. Collection Information. url.
CMOS 14.13, 14.127
1. William L. Stearman to Henry Kissinger, memorandum, "Current Military Situation in Vietnam," Aug. 9, 1974, Presidential Country Files: East Asia and the Pacific, Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library & Museum, https://www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov/library/exhibits/vietnam/032400069-001.pdf.
2. Stearman to Kissinger, Aug. 9, 1974.
Stearman, William L. William L. Stearman to Henry Kissinger, memorandum, "Current Military Situation in Vietnam," Aug. 9, 1974. Presidential Country Files: East Asia and the Pacific. Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library & Museum. https://www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov/library/exhibits/vietnam/032400069-001.pdf.
Lone Star College-University Park • Student Learning Resource Center
20515 SH 249 • Building 12, 8th Floor • Houston, TX 77070
This work by Lone Star College-University Park Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 