1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #, Name of Database OR URL of journal article web page.
2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article. Name of Database OR URL of journal article web page.
CMOS 14.67-86
Up to six authors are now listed in a bibliography or reference list entry; if more than six, only the first three are listed, followed by “et al.”
In a shortened note, up to two authors are now listed; if more than two, only the first is listed, followed by “et al.”
1. Valerie Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democratization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience," World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 168, https://www.jstor.org/stable/25054217.
2. Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democratization," 172.
Bunce, Valerie. "Rethinking Recent Democratization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience." World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 167-192. https://www.jstor.org/stable/25054217.
1. Jeremy A. Frimer and Linda J. Skitka, “Are Politically Diverse Thanksgiving Dinners Shorter than Politically Uniform Ones?” PLoS ONE 15, no. 10 (2020): 16, https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0239988.
2. Frimer and Skitka, "Politically Diverse Thanksgiving," 20.
Frimer, Jeremy A., and Linda J. Skitka. “Are Politically Diverse Thanksgiving Dinners Shorter than Politically Uniform Ones?” PLoS ONE 15, no. 10 (2020): 1-27. https://10.1371/journal.pone.0239988.
1. Bernard Testa and Lamont B. Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence in the Self-Organisation of Complex Systems," Entropy 2, no. 1 (2000): 17, http://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.
2. Testa and Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence," 17.
Testa, Bernard, and Lamont B. Kier. "Emergence and Dissolvence in the Self-Organisation of Complex Systems." Entropy 2, no. 1 (2000): 1-25. http://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.
1. Richard Wiseman et al. "Can Animals Detect when their Owners are Returning Home? An Experimental Test of the 'Psychic Pet' Phenomenon," British Journal of Psychology 89 (1998): 455, https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(06)68930-7.
2. Wiseman et al., "Animals," 456.
Wiseman, Richard, Matthew Smith, and Julie Milton. "Can Animals Detect when their Owners are Returning Home? An Experimental Test of the 'Psychic Pet' Phenomenon." British Journal of Psychology 89 (1998): 453-62. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.2044-8295.1998.tb02696.x.
1. Joy C. Enyinnaya et al. "The Social Ecology of Health Beliefs and Misinformation Framework: Examining the Impact of Misinformation on Vaccine Uptake through Individual and Sociological Factors," Vaccine 42, no. 3 (2024): 455, https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(06)68930-7.
2. Enyinnaya et al., "Misinformation Framework," 458.
Enyinnaya, Joy C., Ashley A. Anderson, Nicole C. Kelp, Marilee Long, and Colleen G. Duncan. "The Social Ecology of Health Beliefs and Misinformation Framework: Examining the Impact of Misinformation on Vaccine Uptake through Individual and Sociological Factors." Vaccine 42, no. 3 (2024): 455-463. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vaccine.2024.01.001.
CMOS 13.78
1. John Collinge et al. "Kuru in the 21st Century -- an Acquired Human Prion Disease with very Long Incubation Periods," The Lancet 367, no. 9528 (2006): 2069, https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(06)68930-7.
2. Collinge et al., "Kuru," 2070.
Collinge, John, Jerome Whitfield, Edward McKintosh, and et al. "Kuru in the 21st Century -- An Acquired Human Prion Disease with very Long Incubation Periods." The Lancet 367, no. 9528 (2006): 2068-74. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(06)68930-7.
Up to six authors are now listed in a bibliography or reference list entry; if more than six, only the first three are listed, followed by “et al.”
In a shortened note, up to two authors are now listed; if more than two, only the first is listed, followed by “et al.”
CMOS 13.78
Websites can often be limited to notes. If not using notes, a bibliographic entry may be included, cited by the owner or sponsor of the site.
1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Title of Page," Title or Owner of Site, date last modified or accessed, URL.
2. Author Surname, "Title of Page."
Author Surname, First Name or Initials. "Title of Page." Title or Owner of Site. Date last modified or accessed. URL.
CMOS 14.103-104
1. K. A. Johnson and J. A. Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas," Harvard University Medical School, accessed April 29, 2011, http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/.
2. Johnson and Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas."
Johnson, K. A., and J. A. Becker. "The Whole Brain Atlas." Harvard University Medical School. Accessed April 29, 2011. http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/.
1. Alan Henry, "Why We Get Brain Freezes," Lifehacker, June 11, 2016, http://lifehacker.com/why-we-get-brain-freezes-1781798710.
2. Henry, "Brain Freezes."
Henry, Alan. "Why We Get Brain Freezes." Lifehacker. June 11, 2016. http://lifehacker.com/why-we-get-brain-freezes-1781798710.
1. "Apps for Office Sample Pack," Office Dev Center, Microsoft Coporation, updated October 20, 2015, https://code.msdn.microsoft.com/office/Apps-for-Office-code-d04762b7.
2. "Apps for Office."
Microsoft Corporation. "Apps for Office Sample Pack." Office Dev Center. Updated October 20, 2015. https://code.msdn.microsoft.com/office/Apps-for-Office-code-d04762b7.
1. "Diabetes Myths," American Diabetes Association, last modified July 5, 2017, http://www.diabetes.org/diabetes-basics/myths.
2. "Diabetes Myths."
American Diabetes Association. "Diabetes Myths." Last modified July 5, 2017. http://www.diabetes.org/diabetes-basics/myths.
1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month Day, Year, page # OR URL/location.
2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Day, Year. URL/location.
Note: news & magazine articles may be only cited in footnotes, without the bibliography entry.
If available, page numbers may be used in notes but omitted from the bibliography.
CMOS 14.87-88
1. Scott Borchert, "The Rich, Weird, and Frustrating World of Depression-Era Travel Guides," The Atlantic, June 22, 2021, https://www.theatlantic.com/culture/archive/2021/06/new-deal-american-guides-federal-writers-project/619255/.
2. Borchert, "Travel Guides."
Borchert, Scott. "The Rich, Weird, and Frustrating World of Depression-Era Travel Guides." The Atlantic, June 22, 2021. https://www.theatlantic.com/culture/archive/2021/06/new-deal-american-guides-federal-writers-project/619255/.
1. Joan Acocella, "Art Made Flesh," New Yorker, May 24, 2021, 62, http://search.ebscohost.com.lscsproxy.lonestar.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,cpid&custid=s1088435&db=a9h&AN=150315830&site=ehost-live.
2. Acocella, "Art Made Flesh," 65.
Acocella, Joan. “Art Made Flesh.” New Yorker, May 24, 2021. http://search.ebscohost.com.lscsproxy.lonestar.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,cpid&custid=s1088435&db=a9h&AN=150315830&site=ehost-live.
1. Carol Ezzell, "Care for a Dying Continent," Scientific American, May 2000, 32.
2. Ezzell, "Care for a Dying Continent," 32.
Ezzell, Carol. "Care for a Dying Continent." Scientific American, May 2000.
1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year, page # OR URL/location.
2. Author Surname, "Article Title."
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year. URL or Database Name.
Note: news & magazine articles may be only cited in footnotes, not the bibliography.
Specific page numbers may be cited in the notes but this isn't required.
CMOS 14.89-98
1. Alessandra Stanley, “‘Mad Men’ Strains to Stay as Button-Down as Ever,” New York Times, August 13, 2009, https://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/14/arts/television/14mad.html.
2. Stanley, "'Mad Men.'"
Stanley, Alessandra. “‘Mad Men’ Strains to Stay as Button-Down as Ever.” New York Times, August 13, 2009. https://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/14/arts/television/14mad.html.
1. Eric Wilson, "An Unheralded Muse of Midcentury Fashion," New York Times, January 17, 2013, E4, https://research-ebsco-com.lscsproxy.lonestar.edu/linkprocessor/plink?id=b501e8b5-21a6-3343-b024-a5b8d4791aeb.
2. Wilson, "Midcentury Fashion," E4.
Wilson, Eric. “An Unheralded Muse of Midcentury Fashion.” New York Times, January 17, 2013. https://research-ebsco-com.lscsproxy.lonestar.edu/linkprocessor/plink?id=b501e8b5-21a6-3343-b024-a5b8d4791aeb.
Note: news & magazine articles are typically only cited in footnotes, not the bibliography.
1. Laurie Goodstein and William Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage," New York Times, April 10, 2000, National Edition, sec. 1.
2. Goodstein and Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads."
Goodstein, Laurie, and William Glaberson. "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage." New York Times, April 10, 2000. National Edition, sec. 1.
1. Interviewee First Name Surname, "Title of Interview Article," interview by Interviewer Name, Publication Title, date, page#, url/database.
2. Interviewee Surname, "Short Title," interview, page#.
Interviewee Surname, First Name. "Title of Interview Article." By Interviewer Name. Publication Title, date. url/database.
CMOS 14.110
1. Lydia Davis, "The Art of Fiction No. 227," interview by Andrea Aguilar and Johanne Fronth-Nygren, Paris Review, no. 212 (Spring 2015): 172, EBSCOhost.
2. Davis, "Art of Fiction," interview, 173.
Davis, Lydia. "The Art of Fiction No. 227." Interview by Andrea Aguilar and Johanne Fronth-Nygren. Paris Review, no. 212 (Spring 2015): 170-178. EBSCOhost.
1. Volodymyr Zelensky, "Volodymyr Zelensky Has a Plan for Ukraine’s Victory," interview by Joshua Yaffa, New Yorker, September 22, 2024. https://www.newyorker.com/news/the-new-yorker-interview/volodymyr-zelensky-has-a-plan-for-ukraines-victory.
2. Zelensky, "Plan."
Zelensky, Volodymyr. "Volodymyr Zelensky Has a Plan for Ukraine’s Victory." Interview by Joshua Yaffa. New Yorker, September 22, 2024. https://www.newyorker.com/news/the-new-yorker-interview/volodymyr-zelensky-has-a-plan-for-ukraines-victory
1. Author First Name Surname, "Title of the Work" (document type, university, year), page #, url.
2. Author Surname, "Short Title," page#.
Author Surname, First Name. "Title of the Work." Document type, university, year. Database or url.
Master's thesis: master's thesis
PhD dissertation: PhD diss.
CMOS 14.113
1. Reilly Card, "Commodifying the American Funeral: Impacts on Our Rituals, Grief and Values" (master's thesis, Illinois State University, 2024), 56, https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2892&context=etd.
2. Card, "Commodifying," 70.
Card, Reilly. "Commodifying the American Funeral: Impacts on Our Rituals, Grief and Values." Master's thesis, Illinois State University, 2024. https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2892&context=etd
Well-known reference books are generally only cited in notes, not the bibliography. Full publication information is usually not included, but the edition must be specified.
CMOS 18 no longer recommends s.v. for "sub verbo." The word "under" may be included for clarity.
1. Publication Title, "Title of Entry," by Author Name, date, url.
2. Publication Title, "Title of Entry."
Often omitted.
CMOS 14.131
1. Publication Title, Edition/date last modified, under "title of entry."
2. Publication Title, Edition, s.v. "Title of Entry."
Often omitted for well-known works. Others should be listed following the example for books.
CMOS 14.130
1. Grove Music Online, "Beneke, Tex [Gordon]," by Brian Peerless, January 20, 2002, https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.J036500.
2. Oxford English Dictionary, “flummery (n.),” July 2023, https://doi.org/10.1093/OED/3890166152.
3. Britannica, "Soul Food," by Anita Wolff, last updated October 23, 2024, https://www.britannica.com/topic/soul-food-cuisine.
4. Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained, "Goblin," edited by Una McGovern, (Chambers Harrap, 2007). https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6OTkyMzcz?summaryArticle=true&aid=99152.
1. Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed. (1980), under "salvation."
2. MLA Handbook, 9th ed. (Modern Language Association of America, 2020), 6.8.
Same as full note (which already pretty concise!).
Often omitted for famous, well-known works.
With CMOS 18, the range of pages the chapter appears on is no longer required in the bibliography.
1. Author FirstName Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," in Book Title, ed. Editor First Name/Initial Surname (Publisher, Year), page #.
2. Author Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," page #.
Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Chapter or Article." In Book Title, edited by Editor First Name Surname. Publisher, Year.
CMOS 14.8-10
1. Author FirstName Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," in Book Title, ed. Firstname Lastname, vol. # (Publisher, Year), page #.
2. Author Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," Volume #:page #.
Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Chapter or Article." In vol. # of Book Title, edited by FirstName LastName. Publisher, Year.
CMOS 14.22
1. H. F. Arnold, "The Night Wire," in Masterpieces of Terror and the Supernatural, ed. Marvin Kaye, (Barnes & Noble Books, 1993), 334.
2. Arnold, "The Night Wire," 347.
Arnold, H. F. "The Night Wire." In Masterpieces of Terror and the Supernatural, edited by Marvin Kaye. Barnes & Noble Books, 1993.
1. Mario Creet, "Fleming, Sir Sandford," in Dictionary of Canadian Biography: 1911-1920, vol. 14, (University of Toronto Press, 1998), 359.
2. Creet, "Fleming, Sir Sandford," 14:359.
Creet, Mario. "Fleming, Sir Sandford." In vol. 14, Dictionary of Canadian Biography: 1911-1920. University of Toronto Press, 1998.
Lone Star College-University Park • Student Learning Resource Center
20515 SH 249 • Building 12, 8th Floor • Houston, TX 77070
This work by Lone Star College-University Park Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 
