Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Look
Now that you have an idea of what to focus on, you can start drilling down deeper on your one, specific topic. This is the real meat of your research and will give you the sources you'll use in your annotated bibliography/final paper.
The databases below cover a wide range of topics, which is useful when you're just starting your deeper research or if you're not sure which subject areas to look in.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database; full text of articles from over 5,300 journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
Essays and criticism examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history.
Complete historical full text of all issues of peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of humanities and social science fields.
Literary Reference Center
Criticisms, synopses, and reviews of authors and their works, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels, as well as full text from over 400 literary journals.
Full text of 285 journals in literature, history, international/cultural studies and other humanities and social science fields.
These fall into the "reputable but not scholarly" area, but they're very useful for getting more current information than scholarly sources can provide.
New York Times: Create Your Account
Use your Lone Star email address to create an account via this link. Once you've made an account, you can go straight to the regular NYT site (nytimes.com) and log in as if you were a paying subscriber.
Newspaper Source Plus
Selected full-text from 30 US national and international newspapers and 200 regional papers, plus TV & radio news transcripts.
Google Scholar is another useful tool that might help you get started locating, well, scholarly sources. You can even tell it to search Lone Star access to full text!